The Start of a New School Year

A brand new year means brand new goals. Don’t let yourself be a statistic for school dropouts, be on the other side of the analytical gap.

 

It’s that time of the year again for most of us and high school comes in no different format. Just two months in the process of summer vacation, my school Maples Collegiate (sometimes called Maples Collegiate Institute) has went through a variety of major transformations! I can’t help but think of how fast the changes has taken place, but that’s why I’m going to ‘show and tell’ the new initiatives of my beloved school Maples Collegiate.

 

The Judy Silver Student Commons

Since the last time I saw the construction site, I can see that the process was we’ll worth the wait. The commons is expected to open near the end of October and the start of November, and is told to hold a capacity of at least 800 students! This is truly a great and useful new addition to the school and it also gives a more modern look that I, and other students, look forward to when we step on school grounds.

Here is a comparison of the construction site from last June and the most recent photo taken on September. If you want to see a more time-lapse conception of the commons click here.

 

10300496_766793870027380_1228928222242909388_n

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 3.55.30 AM

 

Stunning isn’t it? That’s what I thought when I first took my steps through the front. I was thinking to myself “Wow! Our school is starting to look like a million bucks (It technically is a million bucks). I’m looking forward to actually eat here since that the cafeteria is moving to this new location, and to say goodbye to the cold floors that my friends and I eat on (but the floors aren’t that bad as well). I hope that the deadlines doesn’t get pushed so that everyone can enjoy the new grand structure and make new memories as being the 2nd largest school in Manitoba.

The outside may look awesome but the inside will most definitely look even more stunning! Will the addition of an 800 student capacity, the commons will also host the new cafe, a stage for student events, new tables, washrooms, and a mezzanine (balcony) that will connect the two school buildings on the 2nd floor.

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 4.20.34 AM

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 4.20.52 AM

 

This may be the start of the new school year but the journey is long ahead of me and I’m going to treat it like a wonderful joyride.

Published by

brix100

The creator of Rants of an AP Student. A boy. A blog. And a laptop. I'm your everyday hipster who loves blogging, and promoting social awareness to the world. I'm an activist, an honours student, a blogger, and your everyday all love and free kind of guy.

Leave a Reply

