Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 8.50.00 PM

Book of January Review: Put on the Armour of Light

This past month has given me a tremendous opportunity to experience breath taking drama from this novel written by Catherine MacDonald where Put on the Armour of Light was my own shining of light during these past four weeks.

I can’t imagine how Winnipeg, my home, would look like at the dawn of 1899 and I sure can’t remember the time when I went to a museum (which I should) to look at the history behind it. The atmosphere that was presented in the novel was   exciting and it sure as hell makes me want to go back and time and experience what it really would have been like to be a Winnipeger during its pioneering days.

What I loved about it was the ability to actually imagine the streets that were thrown at me while reading the chapters. I was like “Hey! I know that street! And that building as well!” It must have been the constant echoing of how these same exact streets that were ideal to the novel’s success.

The storyline was also very delicious to read as I, myself love murder and drama. I can’t say the least how a murder caused by fraud is the most propelling story to read but, I can say that in the midst of tears, the suspension of who did what is what makes me (and hopefully you) to keep on flipping the pages as the story releases its dynamite (don’t worry it’s not actually dynamite, but the ending might be).

 

Published by

brix100

The creator of Rants of an AP Student. A boy. A blog. And a laptop. I'm your everyday hipster who loves blogging, and promoting social awareness to the world. I'm an activist, an honours student, a blogger, and your everyday all love and free kind of guy.

Leave a Reply

